Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
DV capture (Read 7524 times)
Citizen_Kang
Radmeister

DV capture
Sep 20th, 2001 at 11:33pm

Hey Rad,

In a couple of spots in the guides (ex. Behemoth) you have   "DV only requires 3.6MB/s" - Now I have very little practical experience with DV (capturing or editing) but:

1) shouldn't it be 36MBps:

Resolution of 1024 x 768, YUV (16bpp), 24fps ->

[1024x768x16x24] / [8x1024x1024 -> to convert to MBps]
  = 36MBps

( if it were 3.6MBps, using 1394 would be a bit of overkill, USBv1.0 would be all one would ever need, and for that matter, the PCI bus would probably suffice too instead of isolating to SCSI ) 

2)  Rather than a set figure, isn't it instead the case that the minimum data transfer rate that DV requires is foremost dependent upon the resolution that your capturing at!  ie. if a camcorder had a max res. of 800x600 then (assuming the same image format and frame rate as above) one would only require a bus that can sustain a ~22MBps (which, agian, would be best served by a firewire connection to the PC)

Cheers, CK

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Re: DV capture
Reply #1 - Sep 21st, 2001 at 3:31am

Kang,

If you look here:

http://www.videoguys.com/storage.htm

.. storage rule #4, you'll see they say:

"DV is a fixed 3.5 megs per second."

Actullay, I've heard the number 3.6 used more (than 3.5), but it doesn't really matter. The 3.5/3.6 number is used many times all over the Net.

My own calcs also come to the same conclusion.

You use 1024x768. Our DV = 720x480 .. maybe that's where your calcs go awry.

Firewire is used not only for data x-fer, but also for device control. I think things would be more responsive is they used separate busses for each.

Firewire actually just *transfers* the (already captured) video to the hard drive. In the case of DV, the word "capture" is actually a misnomer. It's really just *transferred*.