HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
@#$%&*** Password (Read 8004 times)
Richard
Ex Member

@#$%&*** Password
Mar 12th, 2002 at 5:55pm

Why do we need a password?  I keep forgetting mine.   A user ID so we know who we are talking to is reasonable but who do you want to keep out?  I guess this is a general gripe that applies to all sorts of internet sites.  Not trying to be a wise guy but why would anyone care if someone logged on and looked over the site and only had to give his name/alias?
Sorry, its my nature to question authority.  At least I do it quietly now that I am becoming a geezer.
Richard

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Re: @#$%&*** Password
Reply #1 - Mar 12th, 2002 at 6:09pm

A few weeks ago I disabled the req'ment to register b4 you can post messages. I'm new to this bulletin board software, and the req'ment you reference is part of the *default* settings. I installed the software as a learning exercise, not thinking that anyone would actually use the forum. Now that there's some traffic, I'm having to learn how to configure the board.

So you should be able to post and do whatever you like without registering or logging in. Some forums attract troublemakers, and the req'ment you reference is designed to keep them out. But this forum doesn't generate enuf traffic to attract those types. I'd be honored if a 'troll' felt this forum worth his effort. You're the biggest troublemaker I have right now. Smiley

If you're still having trouble, lemme know, and see what I can do.

IP Logged

Richard
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Mar 12th, 2002 at 10:50pm