Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
AHA 2940UW Pro SCSI and .... (Read 9061 times)
plusfourfour
N00b

I love to Dance but my
baby just loves to love!

England

AHA 2940UW Pro SCSI and ....
Mar 18th, 2002 at 11:07pm

Hi! Cheesy A great place to be instructed and learn from- congrats.  But I ned the Professor experience appraoch.  I am getting confused so I'd like to be told a system and one alternative and then I'll re-read this site and find out exactly why.  I am not very experienced with PC's but I've read as much as I can.

I have a AHA 2940UW Pro SCSI card.  I only use it at present to run some external stuff like an ESI4000 sampler, ZIP, and CD R/W plextor.  I am about to upgrade but I'don't have a lot of cash.  I will be spending about £900 (I'm in the UK).  I'm not sure that my SCSI card can work with today's scsi drives.  I use my computer to record and read  multiple tracks of Audio.  The software is SONAR (and some LOGIC) with lot's of VSt and DX plugins.  Plus I'd like to see if I can integrate gigaSampler.  Anyway I would like to upgrade in 2 stages.

Stage 1.  I have a PIII 700HZ.  I wish to attempt to overclock it (can this be done on a socket 370 MATX motherboard?). I wish to try a scsi drive to see if it's much faster (boot from it I suppose).  So that's easy.  Just suggest a scsi drive that works with the AHA 2940UW Pro SCSI card.  Or if this has no benefit tell me.

Stage 2.  Upgrade to Northwood P4 1.6 and overclock to 2.1ish.  So I will need a new case (mine's a micro at present), Mainboard (I don't mind which memory type for RAM).  Then I'll sell my old computer.

So can you Professors of Experience help out a Poor guy  of intellect?   Grin

Tom

Regards &&&&Tom Cheesy

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Re: AHA 2940UW Pro SCSI and ....
Reply #1 - Mar 19th, 2002 at 12:48am