Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
STUCK - XP NTFS GHOSTING? (Read 6698 times)
BigT
N00b

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

STUCK - XP NTFS GHOSTING?
Apr 7th, 2002 at 5:48pm

OK, I'm stuped! . . . Or stupid?  Believe it or not I am not a Ghost newbie. . . .yes, I have read Rad's great walkthrough and done some reading at Norton's site including the product manual . . . . .this should work. . .?

I have been using Ghost for a few years - thanks to the great docs at Rad's site!  Ghost has been great up till now - new problem:

I now have a new Windows XP PC that has one large 120 GB hard drive.  I have one partition of about 105GB as C drive and one partition of about 15GB as drive letter D.  Drive C is an NTFS format partition (boot).  I made my D partition FAT32 (from NTFS using Partition Magic) expressly for carrying Ghost images of my C partition.

Now that I have my new XP PC together with all drivers installed and everything working, I want to get it's image. I have tried using ghost 7.0 and 7.5 (2002) to no avail.  When I launch Ghost off the Floppy startup disk, I am able to select the C drive as an image source, but when I go to choose the DESTINATION choice, I can only choose 'A' drive, CDRW drive, and C drive - NO 'D' PARTITION IS LISTED.  Ghost is not listing both of my partitions - C & D. Help!

When I go to my Win 98 PC, I can launch Ghost and re-image and select images there between the 2 partions (C & D both FAT 32) just fine - no problems.

I have tried for nearly 2 days to get this to work on my XP PC.  ANY suggestions?  What am I doing wrong or not including? THANKS A MILLION!

IP Logged

BigT
N00b

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: STUCK - XP NTFS GHOSTING?
Reply #1 - Apr 7th, 2002 at 8:37pm

Angry
this is moreof an addendum to the original problem noted above - man is this going to be hard to describe: