Send Topic Print
Ghost 9 - BSOD! (Read 135959 times)
texdawg
Technoluster

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Ghost 9 - BSOD!
Feb 7th, 2005 at 7:58pm

I’m running WinXP Pro / SP2 on my PC.

A few weeks ago I introduced a subject concerning system restart problems after running certain backups on my PC using Norton Ghost 9.  I’ve since upgraded to Ghost 9.02 and my problem continues to persist.

Background – I have 2 hard drives on my system.  My first drive has two partitions, c:\ and e:\.  My second hard drive has 6 partitions, d:\, f:\, i:\, j:\, k:\ and l:\.  My PC is dual boot.  I have Win98SE on drive #1, c:\ partition and WinXP Pro / SP2 on drive #2, d:\ partition.  I’ve been running this configuration since January 30, 2002.  I use WinXP Pro about 99% of the time and the remainder I use Win98SE.

I had been using Norton Ghost 2002 and then Ghost 2003 until Symantec came out with Ghost 9.  Ghost 9 is Symantec’s adaptation of Powerquest’s Drive Image product.  I installed Ghost 9 on my PC back in November 2004.

I can comfortably back up any of my partitions on either of my drives with no problems except for when I do a backup of my d:\ partition which houses my WinXP Pro OS.  Initially I was having reboot problems after backup up my d:\ partition because of some unknown error that was being created by Ghost 9.  I turned off “Automatically restart” under System Failure so I could generate a BSOD to get some idea of my problem.  Sure enough I now get a BSOD and it says it was caused by a driver named pqv2i.sys.  The error message I get is PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA.  I hit my reset button to reboot and I don’t get the error again until I back up my d:\ partition again.