Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 2003 CD is bootable.. (Read 47821 times)
Just me

Ghost 2003 CD is bootable..
Apr 28th, 2005 at 7:56pm

Hi, I've read all over the boards here and the net about Ghost 2003, and no where is it mentioned that the original CD is bootable! I read where people have so many problems creating boot CD's or floppies, but why not just use the ghost cd? I'm just wondering why it's not the preferred method? I'm new to Ghost and like it alot, and I had absolutely no problems creating an image using the original CD, I only added -ghostoncd switch, and I could access it and restore fine. Can anyone tell me why this isn't mentioned anywhere I've read?

IP Logged

Claus

Re: Ghost 2003 CD is bootable..
Reply #1 - Apr 28th, 2005 at 11:58pm

Urm, maybe they don't have the CD.

IP Logged

Just me

Reply #2 - Apr 29th, 2005 at 2:38am

Well, I just discovered by accident that using the CD to boot works, after much research. I'm new to ghost and don't know if there is any "right" way to use it. Smiley
I just couldn't understand why anyone would try to make their own boot CD's or floppies and not use the original, now I guess I do. Tongue
But, I still want to know how to use it correctly. Does it really matter what I use?

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Reply #3 - Apr 29th, 2005 at 3:11am

You make a good point. I think, sometimes, people just forget, or maybe don't know that the Ghost retail CD is itself bootable.

I'm in the process of updating the guide, so I added a sentence to the 1st paragragh listed under the heading "Bootable Ghost CD" on this page:

http://ghost.radified.com/ghost_caveat.htm

I linked the word "bootable" to this thread.

Thx for the input. Sometimes it's the obvious we overlook.

R.

IP Logged

Just me

Reply #4 - Apr 29th, 2005 at 3:40am