Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
DVD-writer - how to choose (ver 2) (Read 11937 times)
^-^ Wai_Wai ^o^
Radmeister

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

DVD-writer - how to choose (ver 2)
May 12th, 2005 at 6:20am

DVD-writer - how to choose (ver 2)
Hi.
It's my first time to buy a DVD writer.

1) What do I need to know/notice when choosing a good DVD writer?
(eg what aspects/specifications do I need to focus on)

2) I know there're 5 DVD format all together (ie DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD-RAM).
In fact, what's the difference between DVD-R and DVD+R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW?
And does anyone think DVD-RAM is useful?
Should I try to find a DVD-write which can read all DVD formats?

3)
Maybe it's a stupid question.
a) But is it true all DVD-writers can read CD and VCD (Video CD)?
(ver2) *NEW* And is it true all DVD-writers support at least DVD+/-R, and DVD+/-RW?

4)
Which brand or model will you suggest me buying?
And why?

I would like the DVD-writer:
- stable (or longer warranty period)
- can read most discs correctly (and even lower-quality discs)
PS: I don't know, but some DVD-players (stand-alone, not for computers) have problems reading some discs while the discs is not corrupt or naytihng similar and can be read by others.
- writing speed doesn't need to be too high (since I repfer to write discs at lower speed)
- the noise factor is unimportant (unless it is too loud)

Info about my computer:
- my motherboard is A7N8X-X, only support up to 2*UDMA 133
- I have 2 HDDs and 1 CD-RW currently. I think the DVD-writer will replace the CD-RW.
- I don't use any firmware
- I use my DVD writers mainly for reading videos/audios, burning DVDs for videos/audios, and for file storage & data backups.

[ver 2] *NEW*
5) Dual/double layer writing tech
I've heard about double-layer writables.
What is it? What does it do?
What benefits does it provide?