HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Corrupt Ghost Image (Read 5387 times)
Dane Bramage

Corrupt Ghost Image
Dec 14th, 2005 at 4:14am

Hi There,
I have used ghost succesfully many times.
The other day I was fixing a mates puter, and while I was trying to restore data from a ghost image it flaked out on me and started spewing some message about a read write operation gone wrong, and now Ghost crashes when I try to open the file. (other ghost images open fine)
Does anyone know of a way to "fix" ghost images or of any other software that can view them?
Any pointers would be much appreciated.
Cheers. . . . .

IP Logged

Poncho

Re: Corrupt Ghost Image
Reply #1 - Dec 14th, 2005 at 4:30am

Which version of Ghost.

Does it pass integrity check?

IP Logged

Dane Bramage

Reply #2 - Dec 14th, 2005 at 6:25am

I made the image with 2001, I'm trying to restore it with 2003.
I've never done an integrity check before, but I just tried, it reboots to DOS then looks like it is restoring it. It gets to 100% then reboots, I figure this means it passed, but I'm not sure.
Should I just restore the image from DOS and start afresh?

IP Logged

NightOwl-
Übermensch

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat...."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound-USA

Reply #3 - Dec 14th, 2005 at 11:32am

Dane Bramage

Quote:
I made the image with 2001, I'm trying to restore it with 2003.

Are you trying to use *Ghost Explorer* inside of Windows to restore individual files from a Ghost image?

If *yes*--Ghost Explorer has been troublesome for many--not entirely reliable--and trying to load an image from an older version of Ghost may only add to the problems.

Most folks trying to get at a file in a Ghost image where Ghost Explorer will not cooperate, have had success by restoring the image to a spare HDD or partition, and then copying the needed file(s) from there.