Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
problem making cd with Ghost 2003 (Read 2855 times)
jimdays

problem making cd with Ghost 2003
Jan 7th, 2006 at 10:12am

I am a newbie that has only been successful to do email and surf the web, but I wanted to try to create a set of backup cds of my c drive using ghost 2003. Unfortunately, I failed. Using the windows interface, I selected the c drive (to be backed up) and then selected the cd burner as the destination. The pc went into the dos mode and started working. However, just before the first cd was full, I got an error message (about not being able to close the cd). So I got another blank cd and started over. This time I made it to the end of the second cd before I got the error message. I tried this again with different kinds of media, all with the same result. I put the bad disks in the computer and noticed that they were very full (700 to 701MB). I looked for some setting that I might be able to limit the data to about 650MB, put I couldn't find any setting. I think I am having problems because Ghost is trying to put too much data ( to the cd limit) on each cd. Does anybody have any suggestions?

IP Logged

NightOwl-
Übermensch

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat...."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound-USA

Re: problem making cd with Ghost 2003
Reply #1 - Jan 7th, 2006 at 10:31am

jimdays

If your optical writer is really *compatible* with Ghost--Ghost should automatically *know* how much data to place on the disc and adjust the image file sizes accordingly--so the problems you are having may be an indication of not *totally* compatible.

But, here's the way you limit the image file size--during the setup for doing a backup using the Windows interface, you get this *Advanced Settings* page:

The *-split=650* switch will force the image size to be no larger than that size.