Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Wrong destination drive (Read 11046 times)
Killerbee

Wrong destination drive
Feb 11th, 2006 at 1:27pm

I'm new to image ghosting. So in the beginning of this week I decided to first read those guides Rad made available on the internet. These guides, which I must admit, are very usefull for newbies like me who haven't got any experience with ghosting. So first of all I'd like to thank you for the effort you put in there.

Well, this is my problem and I'm using Ghost 2003. I came to the point where I can choose my destination partition/folder for my new image. When I want to choose my G: drive that is labeled as GH_BACKUP then it isn't there in the dropdown box.
Below is an image of the screen I ment to clearify what I mean with the dropdown box (this screeny is just an illustration and is provided by Rad in his guide).

In my case Ghost is only mentioning C, D and E. While I have 2 physical drives. One that has two partitions which are called C: and D:. The other drive has 3 partition called E, F, and G. See image below.

I didn't dare to start making an image with ghost because my G drive with label GH_BACKUP was in the dropdown box suddenly called E:\[GH_BACKUP]. So I was affraid of overwriting data that was actually at E. Should I change something so it would become G:\[GH_BACKUP] or don't I have to be affraid of screwing things up? Thanks in advance for answering my question!!!!

IP Logged

MrMagoo
Übermensch

Resident Linux Guru

Phoenix, AZ (USA)

Re: Wrong destination drive
Reply #1 - Feb 11th, 2006 at 5:51pm

I'm not a Ghost guru, so take this with a grain of salt.