Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Need help with Norton Ghost v10 or 2003 (Read 4855 times)
Camaro24
Ex Member

Need help with Norton Ghost v10 or 2003
May 30th, 2006 at 1:35pm

Hello Everyone,

I'm sure my issue has a resolution somewhere on this board, but I figure it might save me some time if I at least get this posted and you guys seem to be my best bet to get an answer.  I'm fairly new to ghost, I haven't used it in many years so I appologize now if I sound like a "noob".   

Recently, we have purchased 6 machines for some afterschool programs for middle school children.  With that being said keeping those machines from being over run with their own applications and them toying around has been job in it's own.  What I'd like to do is create an image on one of the machines  and be able to use a Maxtor External USB drive to store the image and then be able to run to each machine and drop the image on if necessary.   The machine I'm imaging currently has 3 partitions;

C:\ System
D:\ Used for Windows Disk Protection
E:\ Virutal Memory and Logs

All the drives are formatted in NTFS.  I have done a little bit of research and read that 2003 has issues with USB 2.0 drives, so I'm not really sure how I should tackle this.  Would 10 be my best bet and what would be the easiest for me to install on the other machines after I have the image of this one? I'm going to continue to search through the forum here, but if someone maybe has a quick answer for me I'd sure appreciate it.

Thank you,
Keith

IP Logged

John.
Übermensch

Re: Need help with Norton Ghost v10 or 2003
Reply #1 - May 30th, 2006 at 6:47pm

Keith,

There's of course more than one way to solve most problems, this one included.  Here are just a few considerations and comments that I can think of:

1. There have been 3 versions of Ghost released since Ghost 2003:
Ghost 9
Ghost 10