Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Norton Save & Restore (Read 36359 times)
Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Norton Save & Restore
Jun 3rd, 2006 at 9:39pm

was thinking about updating the rad ghost guide to discuss norton save & restore. what do we know about it?

is it really "ghost 11" like mentioned here by Ghost4me?

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general;action=display;num=11490...

is it ghost based?

is it based on drive image, like ghost 9 & 10?

what should i say?

i have no experience with it. is it any good?

IP Logged

John.
Übermensch

Re: Norton Save & Restore
Reply #1 - Jun 3rd, 2006 at 10:53pm

Here's the 3 links copied from the FAQ section:

Norton Save & Restore Topics:

Overview, information and features

Norton Save & Restore User Guide

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general;action=display;num=11410...

I have Norton Save & Restore in use at one location.  The main feature/difference between Norton S&R and Ghost 10 is that S&R added the feature to backup files/folders as well as take full image backups.

Quote:
is it ghost based?

Yes, it's Ghost 10 plus file/folder backup capability.

Quote:
is it based on drive image, like ghost 9 & 10?

Yes.

However, I would say that Norton Save and Restore is more of a "marketing" renaming (just my opinion here).  If you review the press releases and marketing and features, you will see they are appealing to the masses with the revised name, and specifically hyping the saving of documents, pictures, files.

The other aspect of it (my opinion) is that Symantec appears to have taken about a 3 step evolution of the product line:
1. Ghost 2003 and previous DOS versions imaging.
2. Ghost 9, 10 imaging using XP.