Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Drive C seen as removable drive-SCSI to SATA resto (Read 6896 times)
capt2004
N00b

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Drive C seen as removable drive-SCSI to SATA resto
Jun 29th, 2006 at 10:46pm

Hi,

I have the weirdest problem I have seen with Ghost 9 software. I have been using Ghost 2003 since about 3 years ago on my old PC where I only had IDE drives.
Now I bought a new PC where I have a SCSI and SATA controllers for hard drives.
SCSI is on LSI Logic 1020/1030 controller and SATA is on Nvidia controller. I have Win XP installed on SCSI drive.
The other day I made an image of my SCSI drive with Ghost 9 just to test how does the software work when restoring that image to SATA drive.
I was able to sucessfully restore the image on SATA drive and evereything seemed to be working fine, my system boots without any problems.
Now the weird stuff comes in. System boots fine on SATA drive but when everything loads up, I see my SATA C drive as a removable drive as if it was an additional drive in my PC which you can just unplugg and remove. Somehow system is not recognizing that C drive as an integral part of hardware which you can not remove as any C drive should be.
That is very strange, I checked disk management in XP and everything seems to be fine with the drive, XP sees the drive as operating system drive and as primary partition.
But drive is not configured correctly. When I try to run a boot defrag of my C drive offline with Raxco Perfect Disk, it reports a conflict with drivers and it does not continue, just boots back into win XP.

Did anyone see anything like this? I have been trying to figure out the problem, I searched Google, Symantec and I could not find any information. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Drive C seen as removable drive-SCSI to SATA r