Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Unable to boot back to Windows XP (Read 11232 times)
big_dave
N00b

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Northamptonshire , England

Unable to boot back to Windows XP
Aug 21st, 2006 at 4:26am

Hi

I'm new to Norton Ghost and I'm using Ghost 2003.

I'm having a number of problems and I'll go for the biggest problem I'm having at the moment.

Ghost booted to the PC Dos Mode and went into the Ghost start up screen however it could not detect drives or mouse and just hung in the a grey Ghost Screen with no options on it

I tried Ctrl Alt Delete and it restarted the PC which went to the Start Up Menu giving the option to Run Ghost Dos Operation or Return to Window I took this option and the screen just freezes with a blinking cursor

I also tried switching off the power with no effect

Any suggestions on how I get back to Windows XP please

Any suggestions gratefully received

davidghamilton  
IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Unable to boot back to Windows XP
Reply #1 - Aug 21st, 2006 at 10:19am

big_dave

Most likely you are *trapped* in Ghost 2003's *virtual partition* that is created when setting up a Ghost procedure from the Windows Ghost GUI--usually this happens when there is some type of software/hardware incompatibility between Ghost and your system and the *virtual partition*--perhaps if you are using SATA HDD's?

Here's some problem solving references--report back with your efforts and results:

How to use GhReboot

Cannot start Windows after starting a Ghost 2003 task from Windows

How to restart the computer into Windows if a problem is encountered after running Ghost 2003