Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
A burning question... (Read 3139 times)
El_Duderino
Ex Member

A burning question...
Aug 23rd, 2006 at 10:04am

Hi there,
I'm thinking of wiping my whole system and recreating the partitions etc., which means I need to create a Ghost 2003 back-up on DVD. I've never done this before as I always store images on a second HDD. Anyway, last night I tried it and all went well, including the integrity check. It's the integrity check that brings me to my real point. It's a little bit off the subject of Ghost but I'll do my best to explain.
I've been having heat issues for quite some time, especially when it comes to burning CDs/DVDs. I use Nero and always have the data integrity check box ticked and more often than not it comes up with errors. Sometimes it's one or two and sometimes it can be over a dozen. I've tried all the usual stuff like checking the HDD, defragmenting, starting up with only essential programs and services running (no anti-virus or firewall) and even reinstalling Windows. The disks I've been using are straight-out-of-the-wrapper and of the best quality. All with no joy. The only solution I've been able to come up with is to make sure the room temperature is cool enough. Too cool for me to be comfortable, then everything is fine - no burn errors. As a result of this I changed my case to an Antec P180 (3 case fans running, all set to high and not a speck of dust in sight) but I still get the errors unless I follow the above solution.