Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Backup & restore notebook to enclosure via USB (Read 50448 times)
tommy_tank
Dude

Backup & restore notebook to enclosure via USB
Nov 20th, 2006 at 7:40pm

I've spent so long trying to find out what will work for me I think I've used up all the time I was due to save if my notebook disk died. Anyway, I'm persevering.

Here's my situation. I have a Dell Inspiron 9400 running XP Media Centre Edition 2005. Sony DVD/CD-ROM. No SATA interface to motherboard. I'm a novice so didn't know anything about partitioning. Thus everything is on C: - about 70GB of 100GB disk used (60GB in My Documents) so too late to move unless i backup My Docs, delete contents, create partition, move My Docs, put contents back in new place - is this wise? I now want to safeguard my data and operating system so I bought a Seagate 7200.10 3.5" 250GB internal SATA disk and an enclosure which connects to my notebook via USB. I'll call this my enclosure disk. I have no floppy drive.

OK so now to my problem: what's the best way to minimise misery when my notebook disk or operating system dies?

Here's my thinking so far. Data i can just copy to and from the external drive so need no special knowledge or software, though it would doubtless be neater and easier with some. So how to recover the operating system and apps? Well, that's what Ghost does but do I really need it (maybe there is something that comes with XP that'll do what I need)? And how easy will it be for a fool like me to get it to work?