HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ghost 8.0 (Read 8892 times)
rgearyiii
Ex Member

Ghost 8.0
Dec 22nd, 2006 at 8:33am

I've been using Ghost for about 7 years with Windows and recently got interested in openSUSE Linux.  Naturally, the first thing I'm going to want to do after installing it is Ghost it.  According to

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ghost.nsf/docid/1999021909463125?Open&src=&...

I'm going to need "Ghost 8.x", especially if I want GRUB to work.  Where do I get version 8?  The only Ghost versions I see on ebay are 9 and 10, and I don't want to pay for the latest bloated version: I just want to be able to ghost Linux from a DOS partition.

The version I've been using for the last few years is Ghost 2003

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Ghost 8.0
Reply #1 - Dec 22nd, 2006 at 9:15am

rgearyiii

Quote:
I'm going to need "Ghost 8.x", especially if I want GRUB to work.  Where do I get version 8?

Ghost 8.xx is the *Corporate* version of Ghost--so it will not be available as a *retail* version--has to come from a Corporate licensed copy.  I don't know the restrictions on an individual purchasing a Corporate version, but probably is available if you pay the price!

This FAQ seems to indicate that it's a simple matter to re-establish the GRUB boot loader after cloning:

Cannot start Linux with GRUB boot loader after restoring an image of a disk or partition

Ghost 8.xx is still supported by Symantec, but no longer is available for purchase--I think their current version is called *Live State Recovery* or something to that effect!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

No question is stupid ... but, possibly the answers are Wink !

IP Logged

rgearyiii
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Dec 22nd, 2006 at 9:36am