Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 9 backup stops at 2% (Read 38288 times)
ckcc
Technoluster

South Carolina, USA

Re: Ghost 9 backup stops at 2%
Reply #30 - Mar 11th, 2007 at 3:11pm

I agree that SpinRite may not be all Steve claims it to be... what software is? But I do know... from personal experience... that it works wonders on drives where all else fails. I have had drives that would fail to run scandisk, format or even be seen by Windows, or even fail to zero fill. After using SpinRite they are once again useable without problems. I have fixed enough drives to more than offset the cost of SpinRite. And yes there have been lots of drives that could not be fixed also. There may be other alternatives that I'm not aware of... I'm far from an expert... but it works for me without problems.

If anything can go wrong, it already did, and you just now noticed it.

IP Logged

ckcc
Technoluster

South Carolina, USA

Reply #31 - Mar 11th, 2007 at 3:24pm

"hard disks die!"

I agree with that statement... but will regular use of Spinrite prevent that from happening? I don't know. Not even sure if I even believe that. I only use it to on problem drives.
Thats what I use Ghost for. If my drive dies, my data is safe. The drive can be replaced... my data can't!

If anything can go wrong, it already did, and you just now noticed it.

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Reply #32 - Mar 11th, 2007 at 4:36pm

Pleonasm

In the interest of *full disclosure*

Quote:
Source:  SpinRite

Your actual link to the above resource is:  http://www.grcsucks.com/spinrite.htm

I think we can assume this (
grcsucks
.com) is not an *unbiased* source!  Somebody has an *axe* to grind with Steve Gibson!