Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Need help with using Norton Ghost 12 (Read 16715 times)
chobo2
Dude

I Love Radified!

Need help with using Norton Ghost 12
Jun 17th, 2007 at 2:36am

Hi

I am a complete noob and I feel kinda lost of how to approach my backups.

I have never really did too much with backups all I did was when I installed my windows after a format I made a backup with Powerquest.

I want to now install vista so I decided to get norton ghost(since powerquest does not exist anymore lol)

This is what I want.

I am thinking of having 3 operating system Vista,XP,Ubuntu.

So when I reinstall Xp I will just make a one time backup after my format and thats about it since this will be only used for a couple things and not much will be happening on it so I doubt I will need to have too many backups for it.

Ubuntu again for now I won't be using very much just for some class work I have to do(also not too sure if works with linux(i am guessing no)). So i don't know at this point if I will bother making a backup for it.

Vista will be my main drive I will be using everyday.

I was thinking of having a setup like this.

4backups total(going back one month) backed up every week.

So:

Week 1 - image1
Week 2 - image2
week 3 - image3
week 4 - image 4
week 5- image 5 overrides image 1

So I think have always a month of backups is pretty good.

So I am not sure how to go about this. When I went to the backup scheduler they had an option Recovery point set (recommended) and I am not sure if I should use something like this.

Like would it work with my situation? Since how it sounds to me that I would need to keep all  my images since it just backs up the new stuff.

As you can see I have no clue so if you can help me out or give me a tutorial to help me out that would be really good.