Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Need help with Ghost 12.0... (Read 26117 times)
datamaniac
N00b

I Love Radified!

Massachusetts, USA

Need help with Ghost 12.0...
Sep 30th, 2007 at 8:49am

Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie with the Ghost cloning SW.
I installed everythign and even ran a backup to a USB 500gb drive with no problems.
But not so when I attempted to test the restore operation.

I booted the SRD ( apparently it's the CD that the Ghost app came on ) and it displayed:

Windows is loading files...

with a progress bar underneath.

After the progress bar indicated the loading completed, it just hung there and did nothing.

Anyone have a clue?

Does anyone have any screen shots of what happens next?

Thanks alot.  I want to get this thing up ASAP as I've lost data before and know how painful that can be.

All the best,

DM.

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Need help with Ghost 12.0...
Reply #1 - Sep 30th, 2007 at 10:34am

datamaniac

I'm betting your SRD (Symantec Recovery Disk) probably does not have needed HDD controller drivers for your particular system.

When the SRD is first loading, there is a very brief time where at the bottom of your screen, it says press F6 if you need to load drivers.

Your motherboard manufacturers website probably has a download of those drivers that fit on a floppy disk--and you feed those drivers when asked for them after pressing that F6.

I think Ghost 12 may also allow for the drivers to be loaded from an optical disc--but, don't quote me on that one--I don't know for sure!

If you are unable to load those drivers, you may have to contact Symantec's support for Ghost 12.  They apparently can create a custom SRD with your needed drivers that you can then download as an *iso*, and then burn to optical media.