Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Backup/Restore MBR b/f Linux install (Read 42589 times)
zmdmw52
Ex Member

Backup/Restore MBR b/f Linux install
Dec 9th, 2007 at 4:36pm

I have 500 GB SATA and 250 GB Seagate HD's on my desktop PC, presently dual-booting Windows Prof SP2 with itself.

Plan to add Linux Fedora Core 8 as a 3rd OS, but want to preserve the current WinXP installs and the MBR, so that if anything goes wrong, I can revert to the old configuration (minus Fedora).

- How can I go about doing this: links to relevant webpages would also be useful.

- More importantly, how can I backup and restore the MBR to the previous state (i.e. WinXP only), in case something goes wrong.

Would appreciate detailed instructions, particularly on how to backup & restore the MBR; as I am new to this.

Thanks

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Backup/Restore MBR b/f Linux install
Reply #1 - Dec 9th, 2007 at 5:22pm

zmdmw52,

I don't use Linux but here is something to get you started.

http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/index.htm

http://members.shaw.ca/LeesPlace/mbrwork.htm

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/utilities.html

Using MBRWork from a floppy, you can backup and restore the first track, LBA-0 to LBA-62. Your MBR is LBA-0.

IP Logged

zmdmw52
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Dec 11th, 2007 at 2:22am

Quote:
Using MBRWork from a floppy, you can backup and restore the first track, LBA-0 to LBA-62. Your MBR is LBA-0.

The MBRWork DOS screen offers to:

- backup the MBR,  and
- backup MBR to a file

What is the difference between these 2 options?

Also, more important:
Where is this backup stored? i.e. from within Windows how can I access the MBR backup or the 'MBR backup file'?

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Reply #3 - Dec 11th, 2007 at 3:03am

Quote:
- backup the MBR,  and
- backup MBR to a file

Are you sure? I don't see those options with MBRWork.