Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ghost 11/Ghost Solution Suite 2.0 and Dell GX240... Machines Freezing Up (Read 6298 times)
Matthew Reed
Ex Member

Ghost 11/Ghost Solution Suite 2.0 and Dell GX240... Machines Freezing Up
Jun 16th, 2008 at 2:10pm

Hi,
   This is my first post... I just wanted to run this by you guys. I'm a lab manager and we've been toying with GSS for a while and just started to run across this error.

We've got four different labs and three vintages of machines, the 240s are our oldest and make up two of our labs. In one of the labs, I am able to Ghost fine, locally with a boot CD and multicast with boost a CD. Then, last Thursday setting up for a class in the other 240 lab, we ran across this problem of machines in there locking up when trying to Ghost. I noticed before the error file message came up, we'd lose USB power. We switched to PS2 keyboards, same thing. Then, testing out other machines, they'd freeze shortly after booting, not even getting into actually Ghosting the discs.

Now, the kicker is, the machines run Windows fine... so, they're functional... as long as we're not booting into Ghost. I'm guessing some DOS-based driver is choking, but as to what, I've got no clue right now.

We've got removable HDDs, so I can take the drives to the other lab and Ghost them fine, but when I come back down to this one, no dice. We're going to be able to inch along for a while Ghosting after hours, but I'd definitely like to get to the bottom of what's going on.

Any help, hints, or clues would be greatly appreciated... I know I probably left out important information that I missed, if so, please let me know and I'll get it.

Thanks for your time.

IP Logged

Nigel Bree
Ex Member

Re: Ghost 11/Ghost Solution Suite 2.0 and Dell GX240... Machines Freezing Up
Reply #1 - Jun 16th, 2008 at 2:59pm