Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
g2003 Problem, Urgent Help greatly appreciated (Read 6005 times)
hammer
Dude

I Love Radified!

g2003 Problem, Urgent Help greatly appreciated
Oct 29th, 2008 at 7:07pm

Hi, i am very new to Ghost and i need some help from the more experienced users.
my question my be very silly, but it has baffled me for days.

i have ghost 2003 and Xp as my OS.
i want to make an image on a second HDD.
once i have made the image on the new HDD, how do i boot to ghost.exe so i can restore the image?
i have tried to make a boot disk using the Norton Ghost Boot Wizard, but when the pc starts, it tries to boot to the floppy and then i get an error, telling me to press any key to restart. i.e. i dont get a command prompt to allow me to run ghost.exe

so my question is: How do i run ghost.exe so i can restore my image, bearing in mind that i have Win XP(NTFS) and that doesn't support MS-DOS?

any help is greatly appreciated and many thanks in advance.

PS: in addition to using the wizard to create a boot floppy, i made an MS-DOS start up disk(by right-clicking a: the format and ticking "crete MS-DOS..."). i managed to boot to the disk, but obviously that doesn't have ghost.exe on it.
i even tried swapping the MS-DOS disk with the ghosts boot disk half way through, but it never worked.
i managed to see the contents of the disk, but not able to run ghost.exe. it just hangs.

IP Logged

pdblues2231
Dude

I Love Radified!

New York

Re: g2003 Problem, Urgent Help greatly appreciated
Reply #1 - Oct 29th, 2008 at 8:57pm

well. there are many ways to accomplish what you want and its quite simple. you may use ghost32 to copy the image on the 2nd hdd. Or you may use a windows 98 boot disk to get your prompt at which point you may load ghost.exe and then proceed with your image creation. Like I said there are many ways.

pdblues2231  
IP Logged