Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
A bit of help... (Read 30147 times)
Sparky
Dude

I Love Radified!

A bit of help...
Mar 19th, 2009 at 9:12pm

By trade and education I am a computer professional but I haven't worked with backup utilities very much. I used ghost a few times back about 10 years ago and haven't really had to since.

I am now face with an interesting predicament. About 4 months ago I got a new PC from a company that included a 450 gig hard drive and a 30 gig Solid State drive. Guess which drive they put the OS on? One clue... its starting to run low on space due to updates and such.

I am running Vista 64 Home Edition and I found out about the utility to let you shrink the HD on the fly. So I split the big drive into two. It kept all the other stuff in tact and I now have 2 225ish gig partitions one empty and one with most of my stuff on it as well as the solid state with Vista on it. What I want to do is get Vista onto the empty partition which i will dub W: and make it the primary boot drive without a bunch of fuss. I would rather not re-format and whatnot if I can avoid it. So in the words of the nearly immortal Scooby Doo.... REEEEEELPPP!!!

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: A bit of help...
Reply #1 - Mar 19th, 2009 at 9:43pm

Sparky,

A brief answer. Ask for more details if needed. What software do you plan to use?

Delete the partition dubbed W: You want unallocated space here so Vista doesn't see a partition when the image is created.

Create an image of the Vista partition, writing the image to the remaining partition on the large HD.

Remove the 30 GB HD from your computer. Configure the 450 GB HD as the boot drive.

Boot from the restore CD and restore your image to the unallocated space.

Boot into Vista.

IP Logged

Sparky
Dude

I Love Radified!

Reply #2 - Mar 19th, 2009 at 10:23pm