Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Virus Scanning from Bootable CD (Read 14049 times)
Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Virus Scanning from Bootable CD
Apr 11th, 2009 at 9:15am

I was reading about malware (viruses, trojans, rootkits, spyware, etc) and learned that some of these pesky critters have the ability to take control of Windows and prevent a virus scanner from detecting them, or hiding themselves until the scanning is complete.

If this be the case, wouldn't the only sure-fire way to detect malware on your system be from a bootable CD? (while Windows is asleep, and the malware unable to operate and hide themselves or control Windows)

I admit I'm no expert in this area, but here in Radland, we're familiar with the concept of using bootable CDs in order to accomplish tasks (such as imaging/coming) while Windows is not running .. because it can interfere with the things we're trying to accomplish.

Yet I've never heard of scanning for malware from a bootable CD. If this is possible, it's certainly not common.

IP Logged

ckcc
Technoluster

South Carolina, USA

Re: Virus Scanning from Bootable CD
Reply #1 - Apr 11th, 2009 at 2:46pm

Rad
It is getting to be very common for techs that deal with malware removal on a daily basis. Yes it is very effective running removal from an alternate operating system. My favorite is UBCD4win using Barts PE Builder with many apps added targeted for diagnosis, repair and data recovery.

http://www.ubcd4win.com/

There are already several anti-virus and anti-spyware programs included and you can also add others that you have a license for. They can even be updated before building the disc or later after booting to it with network support. See the list of tools...

http://www.ubcd4win.com/contents.htm