Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Re: Setting up a NETWORK (Read 5125 times)
Cookie Jar
N00b

I Love Radified!

Tottenham ON Canada

Re: Setting up a NETWORK
May 12th, 2009 at 9:03am

We are trying to set up a wired Ethernet network of 3 PCs in our home.  All the PCs will be running XP pro.  Because we live in the sticks, we only have dial-up available (typically 40Kbps) . 
     We are complete newbies when it comes to networks, and would appreciate any guidance for setting things up and advice.  Of the many issues that come to mind there are two areas that have us concerned: 1. Ethernet wiring.  2. Managing Updates.

1. Ethernet wiring:
     When we built the house, 17 years ago, we wired each room  with 2 coax cables and 12 shielded twisted pairs.  Will we be able to use the shielded pairs with the conventional Ethernet cards on the PCs?  Are there Ethernet cards still available that use coax?

(Our house has aluminum backed drywall, so RF probably wouldn’t work.  We’re living in a close approximation to a Faraday cage.  The advantage of the aluminum backed drywall is that it allowed us to glue the drywall to the studs, greatly improving the stregnth of the structure and eliminating popped nails and minimizing cracks.)

2. Managing Updates: 
     There must be a better way of updating software than getting on the Internet via dial-up on each PC individually and tying up our phone line for hours on end.  It seems most updates are done automatically these days, so this is the path of least resistance. 
     We’d like to be able to download updates on one PC and then install them on the other two.  The Updates of most concern to us are for Windows XP pro, Avira and Microsoft Defender, though updates are common now for most software.