Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie Questions . . . (Read 9349 times)
Davek
Ex Member

Newbie Questions . . .
Feb 22nd, 2010 at 10:29pm

Hi, I am not a techie but I am trying  to learn. I came upon this forum googling  and looking for information about a project I am undertaking. I am hoping that there are friendly souls in this forum that can help me on my path.
I have a good friend who has a computer business. He installs networks into small offices in addition to doing a lot of tech support for his existing clients. He is helping  me learn about technology. I work with him some trying to get on the job training. He proposed a project where i would find a good cloning software program and we would offer it to his clients as something they could benefit from. I would then do the work to install it. It needs to be pretty inexpensive or free and it needs to have the capability to schedule on a regular basis to keep up to date. I have been researching some of the programs that might fit the bill but any feedback would be appreciated.  As I said, I am not a techie but i know some stuff and want to learn. Any suggestions or input would be appreciated.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Newbie Questions . . .
Reply #1 - Feb 22nd, 2010 at 11:01pm

@
Davek

Quote:
I have been researching some of the programs that might fit the bill 

What have you looked at so far?

IP Logged

Davek
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Feb 23rd, 2010 at 5:06am

I have just gotten started but here is a list that I came upon on a website.
1. Macrium Reflect Free
2. Drive Image XML
3. Paragon Drive Back up
4. Image X
5. Clonezilla

These were listed as the five best free clone programs. They also took a poll as to which were preferred and Clonezilla had a high rating.  My concern is that it might be a bit complicated for my level of tech knowledge.