Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Need Help w E-Sata and Ghost 2003 (Read 37550 times)
Tator
Technoluster

I Love Radified!

Re: Need Help w E-Sata and Ghost 2003
Reply #15 - Mar 14th, 2010 at 8:54am

stun vs spock, were the partitions you created logical drives/partitions?  It shouldn't matter if they are primary or extended as long as they are logical, but Ghost might have problems if they are dynamic.  I have no experience using dynamic drives and don't know whether Ghost will work with them or not.

Are you running Ghost from within Windows or from boot floppy or boot CD?  I don't know if it'd make any difference, but it'd be interesting to know.

Some of the other imaging programs I've tried failed to boot when the image was restored.  Others can't restore image of a larger drive to a smaller drive even when the data space is less than the smaller drive capacity.  Some are limited to WinXP or later, and I have multi boot systems including Win98 and Win2k.  For these reasons I decided to choose Seagate DiscWizard because it works with all Windows versions I've tried, and it works faster than Ghost 2003.  DiscWizard may also be included in a BartPE CD which may include other utilities as well instead of having to have one CD for imaging and one or more other CDs to run other utilities one may want or need to run.  Don't forget DiscWizard is free as well, and it's based on Acronis which is highly rated by many users.

IP Logged

stun vs spock
N00b

I Love Radified!

Reply #16 - Mar 16th, 2010 at 12:44am

@nightowl

the time came for me and i bought it. i'll get back to you on how it compares to ghost2003.

IP Logged

stun vs spock
N00b

I Love Radified!

Reply #17 - Mar 16th, 2010 at 4:32pm

@tator