Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
What's current status of Build 793 and use with SATA HDDs? (Read 18650 times)
voximan
Technoluster

I Love Radified!

England, UK

What's current status of Build 793 and use with SATA HDDs?
Sep 26th, 2010 at 7:09am

A search by me on these forums for anything relating to this enquiry produced a thread which dates back some two years, so I'm now hoping for some info from contributors that's up-to-date.

First of all, am I correct in assuming that Ghost 2003 Build 793 as of today supports all SATA hard-disc drives?

Second, and perhaps more importantly, is the Symantec 'update to v.793' still available from their archive server? I thought I read somewhere that the update files were getting pirated and so Symantec decided in the end to stop making them available.

I've been using Build 793 for a few years now, having updated from that archive server, and have therefore been using Ghost 2003 (in PC-DOS mode) to image the contents of my HDD partitions to both within the same HDD and externally to a USB HDD. The HDD on the computer is an IDE drive, and it's running on WinXP SP3 32-bit.

I'm now planning to build a new computer, as my current machine is nearly 10 years old now and some of my apps run too slow. On the new machine I'll still be using WinXP 32-bit, but of course with a SATA HDD rather than an IDE HDD.