Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
my HD enclosure stopped working with Ghost 2003 (Read 20025 times)
friendly_jacek
Gnarly

my HD enclosure stopped working with Ghost 2003
Jan 2nd, 2011 at 12:12pm

Hi and Happy New Year to everyone and especially Rad keeping this great forum alive.

I've been using Ghost 2003 since 2004 with great results and I learned everything about Ghost here.

Recently, I have problems with the no brand Oxford chipset-based USB2/firewire/IDE enclosure that I have been using to image/restore several PCs at home for long time.

It's not like it failed totally as it works perfectly well with windows XP, but it's not recognized by Ghost at all in one PC and produces fatal errors (#36000, #662, and some more) in another computer when I tried to save an image.

The hard drive itself is fine as I was able to restore from an image by putting the HD inside the PC that failed to recognize the enclosure in the first place.

I was also planning to test it more with more PCs time permitting, but in the meantime I started using another USB2/IDE enclosure (adaptec brand) and it works fine.

Did anyone have problems like that?

BTW, I have the Ghost 2003 newest build 793 with Ghost/Iomega USB2 drivers on both flopies and bootable CD.

Thanks!

IP Logged

Tator
Technoluster

I Love Radified!

Re: my HD enclosure stopped working with Ghost 2003
Reply #1 - Jan 2nd, 2011 at 1:44pm

Ghost 2003 has worked fine for me on a number of PCs with several different external drives, but it failed to recognize the external drive when trying to image an old HP laptop.  However, Seagate DiscWizard worked on all I've tried recognizing the external drive even on the old laptop.