Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
File/folder restore after OS change (Read 10741 times)
Duane
N00b

I Love Radified!

Rogers, AR

File/folder restore after OS change
Mar 20th, 2011 at 5:51pm

Before installing Windows 7 on my laptop (previously Vista), I did a file & folder backup using Ghost 15. After the installation, I installed Ghost 15 again. When I browse the backup disk using Windows, I can see the folder where my previous backups were stored (Norton Backups HP), and it contains several backups, including the one today. But in Ghost, when I try to do a file restore, it shows an empty window with no backups showing.

I've had Ghost installed on my computers for years, but I've never really had to use it for a recovery, so I'm new at this.  I'm sure I don't have the new Ghost installation configured correctly to find the backups, but I can't figure it out.  Any help?

Duane

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: File/folder restore after OS change
Reply #1 - Mar 20th, 2011 at 6:47pm

@
Duane

Most people I know avoid Ghost Files and Folders Backup like the plague. Does this help?

http://community.norton.com/t5/Other-Norton-Products/Ghost-Image-Backup-vs-File-...

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Reply #2 - Mar 21st, 2011 at 1:21am

@
Brian

Quote:
Most people I know avoid Ghost Files and Folders Backup like the plague.

I know you don't like the Files and Folders Backup function of Ghost vxx.  Just like I don't like just the OS partition image backups or single partition backups since Ghost v2003--I like *whole drive* backups!

Quote:
I'm sure I don't have the new Ghost installation configured correctly to find the backups, but I can't figure it out.