Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Question regarding Norton Ghost... (Read 3270 times)
b00h_
Ex Member

Question regarding Norton Ghost...
May 21st, 2006 at 10:49pm

Hey all.

I've never used Norton Ghost before, so I have a question or two about it, I was hoping you could help me answering them.

Well, let's say I format drive C:\ and I backup drive C:\ beforehand with Norton Ghost, and save the image file in drive D:\.

Will I be able to restore all of the information stored in the image file to drive C:\, and everything that was on it prior the format? What happens if I stored anything in drive C:\ before restoring the image file's content? Will it be deleted?

Can I use the 1.44" bootable floppy disk on the same basis in DOS?

During the operation process of Norton Ghost (i.e, when everything is being copied), can anything happen to the other drives in the PC?

I need help on the topic, I've read guides and understood everything, and all, but those are questions I was still asking myself.

Thanks in advance!

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Question regarding Norton Ghost...
Reply #1 - May 21st, 2006 at 11:40pm

b00h_

Quote:
Will I be able to restore all of the information stored in the image file to drive C:\, and everything that was on it prior the format?

That's exactly what Ghost will allow you to do--if you have done everything correctly, and you have verified the integrity of the image, and made sure all hardware functions correctly with the Ghost software--but, it's a little nerve wracking the first time through--it helps if you have a spare HDD to practice on instead of your main HDD with the OS!

Quote:
What happens if I stored anything in drive C:\ before restoring the image file's content? Will it be deleted?