Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
RAID and SystemWorks... some dangers! (Read 18811 times)
allanf
Radmeister

Hey Rad! What a cool site!

RAID and SystemWorks... some dangers!
May 5th, 2007 at 1:04am

Hi,

I'm fairly new at computers, but here is something I learnt the hard way. This may be a little out of date. I have Norton SW Premier 2006, which I purchased because it had Ghost 10 which is stated to be compatible with *HardWare* RAID-0 and RAID-1. SW has been updated to include Save and Restore rather than Ghost. I'm not sure of other changes.

If you are using RAID on your computer, DO NOT attempt to use GoBack. I have HardWare RAID-0. GoBack was installed by default. There is (or was) no documentation to describe the horrors lying ahead. I attempted to "Go Back", and the GoBack interface appeared with no options other than to wait while the progress bar moved on. My HardDisks were spinning, the red light was on, and the fans were blowing like crazy.... FOR EIGHT HOURS! While this was going on, Symantec Support on the phone line were trying to calm me down, and advising to do nothing. After the eight hours, miraculously, my computer was back as it was twenty minutes before I started the GoBack. Under advice from Support, I decided to get rid of GoBack. This involves disabling it before uninstalling it. I was NOT told that the disabling process would tke ANOTHER EIGHT HOURS of my system steaming away at full speed.