Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Set destination to Active? (Read 7444 times)
jim5k
N00b

I Love Radified!

NJ

Set destination to Active?
Jul 3rd, 2007 at 4:43pm

Hi. I'm a Ghost 12 newbie (I haven't even loaded it yet), so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I want to make a copy of my HDD, but I'm unclear what setting the destination drive to "Active" does.  Will that somehow set my source drive to "Inactive"?

I want my source drive to remain the active drive, and I'm going to remove the copy and keep it as a spare. Is setting the drive to "Active" something you do when you create it, or when you install it?

(I know, there are better methods of backing up and restoring a HDD, but I feel better with a quick change in the drawer).

Thanks in advance. – jim

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Set destination to Active?
Reply #1 - Jul 4th, 2007 at 2:50am

jim5k,

Welcome. You have made a good choice with Ghost 12.

Quote:
I know, there are better methods of backing up and restoring a HDD, but I feel better with a quick change in the drawer

Could I try and talk you out of that approach? It's what newcomers to imaging software want to do but it's not a good idea. Please read Reply #7 in this link for the reasons.

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general;action=display;num=11329...

If you still want to go ahead the settings are the same as Ghost 9 and 10.

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general;action=display;num=11175...

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general;action=display;num=11482...

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Reply #2 - Jul 4th, 2007 at 9:43am

I agree with Brian (as usual).

The ultimate would be to create an *image* (file, called a Recovery Point) on a second hard drive.)