Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Looking for advice (Read 3901 times)
Atomicfrog
Ex Member

Looking for advice
Nov 29th, 2007 at 7:24am

Afternoon folks,

I am a Network Technician in a large factory and I am looking for ways to improve our Imaging strategy. Currently, we create images of all of our production related computers twice a year and store them on a dedicated server. We are using Ghost v 8. The way we are doing it now is to set up a computer on a cart and take it from machine to machine making individual images and then transferring them with a crossover cable to a dedicated server. This can be very time consuming. Currently we have about one hundred computers that we image twice a year and that number is going to increase. Aside from the time consuming task of physically visiting each machine, the other problem is that the images are only done twice a year so any changes that are made between images are not included. The result is that when we restore an image, we have to go back and manually copy any files that were changed.

It makes more sense to have the developers make a new image whenever there is a change so that we always have a current image. To do that, we would need to ensure that they could easily create a new Ghost image across the network. What I am looking for are recommendations on how we might improve the way we do things and if it is worth upgrading to a newer version of Ghost.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Looking for advice
Reply #1 - Nov 29th, 2007 at 10:39am

Atomicfrog

Your question is regarding Ghost 8.x and/or newer versions of Corporate Ghost (which would be Ghost 11!)--Ghost 9, 10, and 12 are retail versions that will not apply to your situation--so I moved your post to this forum.

Quote:
We are using Ghost v 8.