Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help - upgrading laptop hard drive using Ghost 10 (Read 5411 times)
mikeg
N00b

I Love Radified!

Help - upgrading laptop hard drive using Ghost 10
Jul 10th, 2008 at 12:50pm

I'm planning to upgrade my laptop hard drive to one with more disk space.  I've already purchased the new drive and have a copy of Ghost 10, which I'm hoping will do the trick.  Note that I've never done this type of thing before and it will be my first time using Ghost, but I feel pretty confident I can get it done -- just don't want to start down the road without having a clear understanding of all the steps.

At a high level, this is what I'm hoping can be done:
a) Using Ghost, make a full disk image of my existing drive and copy this image to a (separate) USB2.0 external drive.
b) Shut down, remove battery, etc. and remove the existing hard drive from laptop
c) Install new hard drive in laptop
d) Start computer, booting off of Ghost 10 CD, with external drive connected (I've already validated that Ghost 10 has the drivers to work with my external drive)
e) Recover image to new internal drive

Will this work?  What am I missing?  Do I need to change any of the BIOS settings?  Does it matter that the drives are not identical in size?

Here are a few relevant details about my system:
- WindowsXP SP3
- Ghost 10 installed
- 60 GB internal HD with single NTFS partition (C:)
- Upgrading to 120 GB internal HD (also wondering if there is an easy way to add a partition or two during this process, but perhaps I should take on one challenge at a time)

Thanks in advance for any help offered.

p.s. - if this information has already been posted somewhere, I apologize for the duplicate thread.  I have searched and haven't come across it yet.

IP Logged

John.
Übermensch

Re: Help - upgrading laptop hard drive using Ghost 10