Send Topic Print
BootIt NG (Read 58315 times)
Dirk B
Radmeister

I Love Radified!

Monterey, CA  USA

BootIt NG
Mar 21st, 2009 at 12:16pm

Hello, this is my first post.  First I'd like to thank whomever it is that operates this discussion board.  I have no knowledge as to how they operate, but I'm glad they are.  Is there anyone here who has experience/knowledge with BootIt NG?  I'm primarily interested in using it as a boot manager, but also for imaging.  Thanks in advance for any advice/help that might be put forth.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: BootIt NG
Reply #1 - Mar 21st, 2009 at 12:26pm

@
Dirk B

BING is one of my favourite apps. Most of your questions will be answered here...

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/index.htm

How many OS are you planning to use?

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Reply #2 - Mar 21st, 2009 at 12:31pm

Did not know BootIT NG had imaging capabilities. Thot it was strictly a boot manager.

Does BING have good imaging capabilities? Basic only?

What is rationale of combining a boot manager with imaging client (or vice versa).

Why one of your favorites? (that's a big vote for them)

IP Logged

Dirk B
Radmeister

I Love Radified!

Monterey, CA  USA

Reply #3 - Mar 21st, 2009 at 12:33pm

Thanks for the quick response Brian!  Well, what I would like to do is:  I just purchased a 1TB HDD.  I'd like to partition it into several (I understand that I am not limited to 4 primary partitions with BootIt NG) primary partitions and run several different Windows XP/software configurations.  What I'd like to do after partitioning is restore a base configuration of the OS to each partition, and then proceed with different application installations on the various drives.  Is this something that is not too challenging?  I am only moderately technically savvy, but willing to learn.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Reply #4 - Mar 21st, 2009 at 12:43pm

Dirk B,