Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
GSS 2.5 / Ghost 11.5 Boot CD/DVD issue (Read 5892 times)
James
N00b

I Love Radified!

GSS 2.5 / Ghost 11.5 Boot CD/DVD issue
Mar 3rd, 2010 at 9:20am

Hi,

I've been using Ghost for some time now, never had a problem with until now.

I'm a Tech and reloaded my friends PC from Scratch. Everything is working so far.

The PC is a Dell E521
1 - Sata HDD

1- Sata DVD-RW

I can boot from a USB stick just fine. Ghost does not have a problem reading the HDD or the DVD drive.

I can create bootable image disks but when I try to boot from the created image DVD, Ghost will not load any drivers for the Sata DVD drive. Therefore it starts to boot, scans for the CD drivers to load, then states something like it can not find ghost.exe

I have found and tried using that gcdrom? file added to it.

I tested the DVd's in my PC and the no problems with booting at all. But then again my PC does not use a Sata DVD/CD drive, it's PATA

Any idea's what's going wrong with this? Is there a fix? Why would Ghost not have a problem using the DVD-RW to burn to but won't load drivers when trying to boot from the Imaged DVD

Thanks for any help

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: GSS 2.5 / Ghost 11.5 Boot CD/DVD issue
Reply #1 - Mar 4th, 2010 at 10:56pm

@
James

Oooooooh.....an interesting one......

Lots of clues and puzzle pieces...let's see what we can get from all this.....

Quote:
I can boot from a USB stick just fine.

Okay, using the KISS principle (keep it simple stupid)--then just boot from the USB stick--what advantage is gained from booting from an optical disc?  (Just curious!!!)

And, more *just curious* questions--

--how big is the USB boot partition?

--what format  is on the USB stick--FAT, FAT32, ?????

--booting to DOS?