Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cloned HDD/partition won't start Win XP (Read 10202 times)
GhostIt
N00b

I Love Radified!

Cloned HDD/partition won't start Win XP
Jun 21st, 2010 at 4:22am

I'm glad that I found this Ghost forum with many experts on Ghost and cloning.

I'm not a Ghost expert but I am an experienced user of DOS-based Ghost.exe (from Corp. ver. of Ghost) for years.  I have been using Ghost v8.2 and v.11 (DOS ver.) for more than 5 years.  I still use Ghost v.82 because I can fit it in a floppy diskette and don't see a big difference from v.11.  I have never experienced any major unsolvable problems using these 2 versions of Ghost.exe until today.

I have a Lenovo (formerly IBM) ThinkPad T61 laptop running XP SP3.  The HDD in it is only 100GB and I wanted to upgrade to a 160GB HDD.  Here was what I did to clone the 100GB to the 160GB HDD:

1.  Took out the DVD drive from T61, put the 160GB into a SATA HDD adaptor and then put it in the DVD drive bay so that I can have access to 2 HDDs at the same time.

2.  Used XP's Disk Management to split the 160GB into 3 partitions ('cos the original 100GB has 32GB for XP, 56GB for data, and a 5GB for a hidden service partition for Recovery & Rescue to factory status).  The 1st and 3rd partitions are same sizes as the 100GB's. I allocated the remaining space for 2nd partition.

3.  Booted up the laptop into DOS.  Ran DOS-based Ghost.exe 8.2 to perform a partition-partition imaging. 

4.  When Ghost finished, shut down the laptop and took out the original 100GB HDD.  Restarted the laptop with only the new HDD in it.  After the Lenovo splash screen, the screen became blank
(black)
with only a flashing dash
("
-
"). 
Win XP did not load or start.

I have tried Step 3 using Ghost.exe v11, but the result was same.