Technoluster

I Love Radified!

california

macintosh ghost
Jun 22nd, 2011 at 1:46pm

i am new to mac.

i searched forum and google then i tried  as follows:

removed hd from mac book pro.

put it and another hd in an win xp machine.

booted ghost 2003 from floppy.

did a disk to disk clone.

put clone in mac.

no boot.

has anyone cloned mac successfully with ghost 2003 or ghost32.exe from ghost 11.5 ?

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Re: macintosh ghost
Reply #1 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 7:21pm

you should PM Brian.

he does magic stuff like this withb windows machines, and might have some insight re: mac.

a bit is a bit, right?

a byte is a byte.

so it *should* work.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Reply #2 - Jun 24th, 2011 at 10:09pm

I'm no help. I've never used a Mac.

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Reply #3 - Jun 25th, 2011 at 12:56pm

@
wp

Quote:

put clone in mac.

no boot.

I'm not a MAC user--so no personal experience to work from. 

But, Ghost 2003 was designed primarily for Windows based systems.  But, it also works with some Linux based OS's also.  According to the User Guide, if Ghost doesn't *recognize* the file system, then it defaults to doing a *sector by sector* procedure--meaning it does not step in with it's Windows default behaviors where it modifies how the data is backed up or restored.

But, when doing a *disk to disk* procedure--I don't know what the default behavior is.  Ghost will not be attempting to reduce the image file sizes to reduce HDD space used--but, it may still be attempting to bypass certain files to increase the procedures speed.