Send Topic Print
HELP!  tcp/ip config (Read 58002 times)
roxe
Technoluster

25/8

USA Idaho

HELP!  tcp/ip config
Jun 7th, 2004 at 8:00pm

I'm trying to make a ghost image of a laptop and need to know how to configure for tcp/ip using Linksys ethernet card in my tower and a pcmcia Linksys card in the laptop (both with 98se).

The laptop hdd has a wierd connector, or I would just use my 2.5" hdd adapter and stick it in my tower to do this.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated; and please, keep it simple and spell everything out. I've never done this before and have no idea.

Thanks! Smiley

IP Logged

keltik1

Re: HELP!  tcp/ip config
Reply #1 - Jun 7th, 2004 at 9:11pm

IP Logged

roxe
Technoluster

25/8

USA Idaho

Reply #2 - Jun 8th, 2004 at 1:26am

Yes, keltik1, I've read that. It's more complicated than I understand right now. I'm not using Linux, but 98se on both machines. I need to know how to set up the tcp/ip values, etc.

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Reply #3 - Jun 8th, 2004 at 5:19am

I've never used Ghost's network feature, so won't be much help. But if you get things sorted out, you might consider detailing your findings and I would be glad to update the guide which would help others in your predictament.

Rad

IP Logged

NightOwl-
Übermensch

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat...."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound-USA

Reply #4 - Jun 8th, 2004 at 12:21pm

Roxe

Quote:
Any help will be GREATLY appreciated; and please, keep it simple and spell everything out. I've never done this before and have no idea.

and

Quote:
I need to know how to set up the tcp/ip values, etc.

It's unclear--tcp/ip values are software settings, but have you already established a peer-to-peer connection between the two computers, i.e. the hardware connection between the two so each computer 'sees' the other computer under 'Network Neighborhood' in Windows Explorer?