Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 2003 CD is bootable (Read 88809 times)
Just me

Ghost 2003 CD is bootable
Apr 28th, 2005 at 8:01pm

(Sorry, I meant to post to this board and not the High Rad board).

Hi, I've read all over the boards here and the net about Ghost 2003, and no where is it mentioned that the original CD is bootable! I read where people have so many problems creating boot CD's or floppies, but why not just use the ghost cd? I'm just wondering why it's not the preferred method? I'm new to Ghost and like it alot, and I had absolutely no problems creating an image using the original CD, I only added -ghostoncd switch, and I could access it and restore fine. Can anyone tell me why this isn't mentioned anywhere I've read?

IP Logged

Just me

Re: Ghost 2003 CD is bootable
Reply #1 - Apr 28th, 2005 at 8:10pm

Oh, and I forgot to mention.. when ghost asks me to insert a floppy disk for the boot info, I just use the ghost CD, since it uses floppy emulation anyway, and it extracts the info just fine, and behold, a bootable CD. Anyway, I'm just extremely curious why people don't like to use this method. I just recieved ghost a few days ago and searched all over the net on user guides and faqs on how to use it, and nowhere did I see this mentioned. Everyone talks about either creating a bootable floppy or CD, and just seems like too much of a hassle if I don't have to. Smiley

IP Logged

Rad
Radministrator

Sufferin' succotash

Newport Beach, California

Reply #2 - Apr 29th, 2005 at 3:14am

You make a good point. I think, sometimes, people just forget, or maybe don't know that the Ghost retail CD is itself bootable.

I'm in the process of updating the guide, so I added a sentence to the 1st paragragh listed under the heading "Bootable Ghost CD" on this page:

http://ghost.radified.com/ghost_caveat.htm

I linked the word "bootable" to this thread.