Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 2003 (Read 13937 times)
Robert Cartladge

Ghost 2003
May 21st, 2006 at 12:20pm

I've been using ghost 2003 with success for about five months.i can easily make an image of C: on to a logical partition and I can do the same to an external USB HD but only slowly( 2hours for 4GB) because I started from the standard boot disc which I think uses USB 1.1 drivers.Today I thought I would have a go at creating the two disk boot discs with USB 2 drivers and get a bit of speed.The first disc hangs at a message giving me a choice of carrying on with the ghost operation or returnig to windows it sits there with a flashing cursor.Exactly the same  happens if I boot from the ghost CD, and again if I invoke ghost from windows,I can never get it to carry on although I have specified drivers and compression.I can't decide what I am doing wrong sure it must be something simple.I'd be grateful for any suggestions.
Robert (Celeron D 2.66Ghz - XP home - 256 RAM - 80GB HD)

IP Logged

El_Pescador
Übermensch

Thumbs Up!

Bayou Country, USA

Re: Ghost 2003
Reply #1 - May 21st, 2006 at 2:01pm

Quote:
"... it sits there with a flashing cursor..."

USB 2.0 can create such grief as shown below when either its software host and/or device controllers - or both - are incompatible with Norton Ghost 2003:

You certainly have come to the right forum if your difficulty turns out to be USB-related.  And, if such is the case, then the make and model of your external HDD would be very useful.

EP
Cry

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Reply #2 - May 21st, 2006 at 4:36pm

Robert Cartladge

Need some clarification:

Quote:
Today I thought I would have a go at creating the two disk boot discs with USB 2 drivers and get a bit of speed.