"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Print Server
Reply #15 - Aug 14th, 2006 at 10:49am

thorin

No *expert* on networks, but I have some experience--from what you have said--

Quote:
How do I tell Zone Alarm to let the print server connect with the network?

Correct me if I'm wrong--I use *printer sharing*--the printer is set up as a
local printer
attached to one of my computers--that computer has to be on--print jobs are sent to that computer over the network for printing.

On my other computers, I have to add a *
network printer
* that points to the computer that has the *local* printer connected to it--so on one of the computers without the printer attached, it says *\\my computer's name with the printer attached\my local printer driver name on the computer that has the printer attached*.

I assume that a print server is a stand alone device that's connected to the network, and has the printer attached to it rather than one of the computers on the network--and it receives a print command from one of the attached computers and handles sending that document to the printer for output.

Seems like you should be adding a *network printer* to each of your computers that points to that print server device on the network.

Your documentation should tell you how to access the print server--i.e. its name as it will be seen on the network.

Does your router have built-in DHCP function for your local network--i.e. it assigns IP addresses automatically to NIC's attached to it--or is your system set up with static addresses?