Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Changing hard drives and using Ghost (Read 17130 times)
ree3162003
N00b

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Changing hard drives and using Ghost
Oct 19th, 2006 at 7:49pm

Ok, I'm new to using Ghost so bare with me here. I've already read the manual for Ghost 9.0 which is the version I’m using and I think I have a reasonable understanding of how the program works. Still though I wanted to come here first and talk with some of the people who are more experienced using the program before I dive in for myself.

Now what I am trying to do is copy the contents of my C drive as an image to another drive, so I can replace my old C Drive with a new one. I have already created several image files of my C Drive and put them on multiple separate hard drives just in the event one image file doesn’t work when I’m trying to restore the drive.

My main question is when I decide to replace this current Drive with the new one do I need to format the new one or do anything else to the drive before using Ghost to restore the image file of my old C Drive.

Just so you know the drive I am trying to replace is an IDE Drive that contains my Windows operating system. The drive I plan to replace it with is from the same maker and also uses the same interface.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Changing hard drives and using Ghost
Reply #1 - Oct 19th, 2006 at 8:48pm

ree3162003,

Regarding formatting. It doesn't matter. You can restore into a partition or into Unallocated Space. I partition the new HD with Partition Magic before the restore but that's just because I find it easier to partition earlier rather than later.

You have several images. Good thinking.

This is how I do the restore.

Quote:
Boot to the Ghost CD
Set the Time Zone
Advanced Recovery Tasks
System Restore
dot in Restore drives          ,Next