Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help needed with creating bootable CD in Ghost v12 (Read 10515 times)
dt_aiying
N00b

Malaysia

Help needed with creating bootable CD in Ghost v12
May 24th, 2007 at 3:39am

Hello experts,

I'm new in recovering systems, creating system images and in using Ghost software. I just got myself a trial version of Norton Ghost v12 and I need to use it to create a bootable CD for the following situation:-

There is an IBM notebook (A) in which its hard disk was totally reformatted and so, I need to copy a recovery partition from another identical IBM notebook (B) that is working perfectly fine. This recovery partition image will be copied from B into A so that A can work properly with all its device drivers correctly installed.

I only know how to backup the IBM recovery partition in B, but how do I make this into a bootable CD with Ghost v12 (I read something abt -ghostoncd and -bootcd switches, I'm not sure how to use those things)? Is this creating of bootable CD even possible with the trial version? Can I use Tools -> Copy Recovery Point to create a bootable CD?

I would really appreciate any form of help here.. My situation here is really urgent..  Cry

Thanks very much in advance!

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Help needed with creating bootable CD in Ghost
Reply #1 - May 24th, 2007 at 3:57am

dt_aiying,

I'm pretty sure the partition copying function is disabled in the trial version of Ghost 12.

The Ghost 12 CD is the Recovery Environment. You can't add backup images (recovery points) to the CD. You could make an image of the Recovery Partition on laptop B and restore this image to laptop A. However it may no longer work as a recovery partition without extra work. At least this applies to Dells. I don't know if this applies to IBMs.