Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Norton Ghost 14 Problem (Read 6901 times)
Eremon1
Dude

I Love Radified!

Norton Ghost 14 Problem
Jan 5th, 2009 at 12:48pm

Hi I'm new to using Ghost in general. The computer I'm using is an AMD X2 +4200 2GB Dual Channel Corsair 800MHz RAM
ASUS M2N-E SLI Motherboard
40GB, 80GB, and 160GB IDE HDDs
1TB SATA HDD

The version I have is Norton Ghost 14. I have a 40GB IDE hard disk with Windows XP Pro SP3 I want to clone to my new 1TB SATA drive which is faster and obviously much bigger. I've tried doing the copy with the 1TB drive in an external enclosure connected via eSATA cable <not usb>. Then installed the 1TB drive in the SATA slot internally. The copy went fine but when I tried to boot from the 1TB it would get to the blue screen  with the Windows XP logo in the bottom right corner. It just sits at this screen with no disk activity after a short time.

Should I install the drive internally straight to SATA first and then do the copy? Is the eSATA connection during the initial coping the problem?

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Norton Ghost 14 Problem
Reply #1 - Jan 5th, 2009 at 1:17pm

Eremon1,

Is that the pale blue screen with the small WinXP logo and no text? It usually has, "Windows is starting up" or "Loading your personal settings".

Did you partition your 1 TB HD prior to the clone?

IP Logged

Eremon1
Dude

I Love Radified!

Reply #2 - Jan 5th, 2009 at 1:21pm

RE: Brian

Thanks for the quick response.

Yes there is no text, the starting windows text nor the welcome to windows text appears at all during the pale blue screen. Only the Windows XP Pro near the bottom right corner. I had the disk partitioned and formatted. But I also thought that Ghost did that anyway along with the correction for size difference between the two drives.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia