Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ghost & disk formatting (Read 8587 times)
Serville
N00b

I Love Radified!

Ghost & disk formatting
Jan 11th, 2009 at 10:48am

Hi, I have a question about Ghost.

I've been using Ghost 2003 for several years, but I've always wondering this question.  Here it is:

I know Ghost can restore image to an UNFORMATTED disk directly, and I have proven this to be true (somewhat...still suspicious)
My concern is about the safety of restoring an image to an unformatted disk. 
For instance, I can restore a 200MB image to a new 200GB unformatted partition/disk  in just 1 min or less (new disk).  While it seems to work and I can read the restored data fine in XP, I've always wondering whether this is safe or not.   
It's too difficult for me to believe when I imagine how DOS or GDisk or even Windows XP needs at least 15-20 minutes to format the whole 200GB space, while Ghost can simply restore the image in less than 1 min and the disk is suddenly seen as completely formatted.

Some people gave me several answers which I still doubt very much:

1.   that Ghost is formatting the space at the same time it writes data back to the disk.  This doesn't make sense to me.  If that is the case, that means Ghost only formats the space as much data as found in the imagefile (200MB).   What about the rest of the free space that accumulates to 199.8GB (assuming a 200GB partition/disk) ?   Meanwhile, I admit that I can still write or read the data from the rest of the space available without a problem in XP.    However, XP sometimes gets locked up for no reason everytime I do this (while still freshly ghosted) , which seems to get stabliized over several days.  Coincidence ???