Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Trouble with Ghost 2003 involving Boot.ini---newbie (Read 10400 times)
Full Monte
N00b

I Love Radified!

Trouble with Ghost 2003 involving Boot.ini---newbie
Jan 2nd, 2010 at 1:14pm

Hello,
I'm a newbie to this cloning thing and have bought many versions of Ghost without ever having success with it.
I've recently  read the Ratified Guide several times and thought I'd give it a try.  I run XP.  Here is what I did:

-Created a new partition on slave disk and formatted it in FAT32.
-Used a Boot Floppy in Drive A to boot from DOS.  Ran Ghost 2003 in DOS mode.  Made an image of C:drive on the new partition on the slave disk.
-put in a replacement disk drive where the master disk drive used to be.
-attempted to restore the image from the slave partition to the new disk drive.
-at the end of the restoration process, I got a message that said "Unable to complete update of boot.ini file--too many partitions (593).

I am not sure what to do next.  I am not smart about working in DOS.  Thanks for any helpful suggestions!

IP Logged

NightOwl
Radministrator

"I tought I saw a puddy
tat..."

Olympia, WA--Puget Sound--USA

Re: Trouble with Ghost 2003 involving Boot.ini---newbie
Reply #1 - Jan 6th, 2010 at 10:27am

@
Full Monte

Quote:
"Unable to complete update of boot.ini file--too many partitions (593)

I have seen similar messages, and Ghost 2003 does attempt to update *boot.ini* when one restores an image file to a new HDD--but, I'm not sure exactly what setup triggers that error message.

With that error message--did you attempt to boot from that new HDD, and did you boot successfully?  Any error messages?

Quote:
-Used a Boot Floppy in Drive A to boot from DOS.  Ran Ghost 2003 in DOS mode.  Made an image of C:drive on the new partition on the slave disk.