Welcome, Guest. Please Login

HomeHelpSearchLogin FAQ Radified Ghost.Classic Ghost.New Bootable CD Blog  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Ghost 2003 or something better for Windows 7 & 8? (Read 46891 times)
Cookie Jar
N00b

I Love Radified!

Tottenham ON Canada

Ghost 2003 or something better for Windows 7 & 8?
Mar 10th, 2014 at 9:15am

I have Ghost 2003, which I have been using on my 14 year old computer for many years backing up XPp using Ghost on a floppy.

I have now gotten a 6 year old PC (Core 2 Quad, SATA) with only Windows 7 installed on a single partition 1TB drive.  Besides making an image for recovery, I would also like to plunk my Windows 7 from the 1TB drive to a 250GB SSD which would then become my main drive, assuming its performance is as snappy as advertised.  Option A seems like a lot of trouble.  Option B would be nice.

A Option:
1.  Would Ghost 2003 be able to clone Windows 7 from a 1TB drive to a 250GB drive?

2.  I assume I would install Ghost 2003 in my 14 year old PC's hard drive, somehow upgrade to build 789 and then build 793 so it would work with SATA drives.

3. Could I then make a bootable CD with Ghost on it, or would I still use floppies on a USB floppy drive on the newer system?

4.  What's the 100MB SRP about?

5.  What's dsp all about?

B Option:
1.  Is there a friendly outboard image/restore program that would do the above job as quickly as Ghost, that you would recommend instead?  I don't like cluttering up my hard drive with programs and would prefer a bootable CD/DVD with the program on it.

IP Logged

Brian
Demigod

NSW, Australia

Re: Ghost 2003 or something better for Windows 7 & 8?
Reply #1 - Mar 10th, 2014 at 10:26am

@
Cookie Jar

How much Free Space is on the 1 TB HD?

You need to maintain 2048 sector alignment when copying/restoring to the SSD.

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=554

IP Logged

Cookie Jar
N00b

I Love Radified!

Tottenham ON Canada

Reply #2 - Mar 10th, 2014 at 11:45am